Learning to play music is one of the best gifts to give to your children

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.”
― Plato

It’s universal. Parents want to give the best to their children. There is all sorts of encouraging and support and life lessons to help them though, but I believe one of the best gifts to give a child is the chance to learn to make their own music.

I have two sons, one joined the band and one joined the orchestra. I was in band and choir in middle and high school, but my husband was not part of an organized musical group. Early on, when the kids were learning their instruments, I realized how special it was, being a part of a group making music, and how grateful I am for that experience even if I never picked up my instrument past high school or joined a choir as an adult. I’m really excited to see how the dynamic of being in a group, a team, contributing to a whole through individual effort is shaping them and helping them grow.

This blog is going to be a bit eclectic. It’s really meant to be a collection of resources for parents who might be supporting a band kid or orchestra kid or helping out with advocating for their music program. As i research a topic or try to find resources to help with an issue, I’ll gather what I find an post it in hopes that it can help someone else.

“Where words leave off, music begins.”
― Heinrich Heine

Leave a Reply

